About EuroScitizen

What is EuroScitizen?

EuroScitizen is an EU funded COST Action, a research network which aims to identify targeted strategies that will raise levels of scientific literacy in Europe using evolution as a model.

The Action will, for the first time, leverage the strengths of diverse stakeholders (evolutionary biologists, education researchers, educators, museum professionals and the media) in order to generate and analyse approaches used to improve the public’s scientific literacy.

Full content of our proposal here.

How to join us here.

Why scientific literacy?

As citizens, we are confronted with a deluge of information and misinformation from the internet and the mass media. Scientific literacy, i.e. the ability to critically evaluate, apply and understand scientific knowledge and how it is produced, is therefore vital for responsible citizenship. It is a prerequisite for generating a knowledge-based society and for allowing citizens to make informed decisions.

Why evolution?

One of the most important fields of science is evolution, the foundation of modern biology. Evolutionary biology is of great societal relevance and its findings have far-reaching implications for how we respond to climate change, drug resistance, issues of food security and controversies in modern medicine. However, it is frequently misunderstood or even rejected outright. This makes scientific literacy in evolution an ideal model to research approaches to improve the state of European scientific literacy more broadly.

Which countries have already joined our Action?

So far 31 countries have signed the Memorandum of Understanding and we are already over 100 Working Group members from these countries. For more details on who we are  and how the management of the COST Action is organized (link to who are we?)


The Challenge
Leverage the strengths of diverse stakeholders
to foster networking that will stimulate best practices to promote scientific literacy in evolution

Who are we?

We are a network that includes over 100  members from 31 countries. Our Action has a management committee that includes representatives from 30 countries.

The Action also has a Steering Committee that includes the following. In some cases, the Steering committee has been mandated by the Management Committee to take key decisions.

Members of the steering committee

Chair – Tania Jenkins – tania.jenkins@gmail.com

Vice-chair – Heloise Dufour – heloise.dufour@cerclefser.org

Scientific representative of the grant holder institution – Eric Allan – eric.allan@ips.unibe.ch

Grant holder institution – University of Bern

Dissemination officer – Roberto Torres

STSM coordinator – Ozgul Yahyaoglu

Equal opportunities officer – Gregor Torkar

WG1 (assessment WG) leader – Anna Beniermann

WG1 vice-leader – Annie Pinxten

WG2 (formal education WG) leader – Xana Sá Pinto

WG2 vice-leader – Evangelia Mavrikaki

WG3 (informal education WG) leader  – Tamara Milosevic

WG4 (media WG) leader – Szymek Drobniak

WG4 (media WG) Vice-leader – Rita Ponce

WG5 (scientists WG) leader – Heloise Dufour

WG5 vice-leader – Josefa Gonzalez

For a full break-down of members of the Management Committee and substitutes by country, please consult the interactive map.